Bowls Report September 2018

Posted on Saturday, 6 October 2018

Men’s & Ladies Pennants have finished for 2018 with our Ladies playing the final of Division 3.  Unfortunately they lost in a very close contest to Mt Gravatt. Our Men reached the semi-finals in Division 2 and Division 6 but lost in both Divisions. The Ladies hosted the finals of the District Pennants at our club and the Men held the semi-finals for the Division 1 & Division 3, all teams praised the condition of our greens.
In our Veteran (over 70) Men’s Championships John Hannay triumphed over Bev Viertel.
The last round of the Ormiston Rise / Tranquil Waters Shield was played on Sunday, 23 September at Cleveland. After 4 rounds of competition between Wellington Point, Capalaba, Cleveland and Victoria Point, we won the competition from Cleveland. This is the second year this competition has been run and we would like to thank Ormiston Rise and Ian Mundey for their sponsorship of this event.  A very special thanks to all players from Wellington Point who throughout the competition played to a very high level and showed a great level of sportsmanship which was evident between all Clubs and competitors.
This year we start our Tribute day which honours all past members especially those that contributed to the on-going success of our Bowls Club. We will be playing for the Reg Pattemore Trophy donated by Daryl Pattemore in honour of his father. Thanks to Daryl.
Our Men will be travelling overseas in October to play at Point Lookout. Our Mixed Bus Trip will be travelling to Tin Can Bay on Friday, 19 October and returning on Sunday, 21 October. See the noticeboard for details of both events.
We will continue with our regular social and sponsored events throughout the year.  Look up our website at for any news and updates to our Calendar of Events or follow us on Facebook.
If you would like to try bowls before you buy simply contact Doug Reynolds on 3207 1801 or email him at

Ladies Division 3 Pennants team – R-L Jan Swanson, Rayna Ellis, Hilda Adam, Liz Hannay, Anne Billyard, Nellie Siviour, Ruth Wynne and in front Sharon Devitt.

Winning Ormiston Rise Team.